Fresh Film Festival
Goto Home Page

Fresh Film Festival



The arts council of Ireland | Funding the arts

Winners 2015 | Leave a comment

Now that we are preparing for submissions for 2016, we are moving our winners list for 2015.

Ireland’s Young Filmmaker of the Year 2015 is Daragh Goan for his film “Wasted”

Congratulations to Daragh and to all our award winners announced on 25 March 2015.
Here are the details of all our amazing award winners…

1st place:
“Wasted” by Daragh Goan, Dublin.

2nd place:
“The Light” by Sophie O’Donovan, Cork.

3rd place:
“The Long Haul” by Arran Tenzin Bradstock, Cork.

Group Award:
“The Detective” by Gairmscoil Mhuire, Athenry, Co Galway.

Highly Commended:
Production Design: “Dead Planet” by Ruairi O’Neill, Waterford.
Direction: “Solitude” by Matthew Joyce, Wicklow.
Cinematography: “Intruder”, “Attic”, “A World of Your Own” by Adam Howe, Cork.
Script: “Foreign Exchange” by Gallen Community School, Co Offaly.

Audience Award:
“Wasted” by Daragh Goan, Dublin.

Brownbag Animation Award:
“Jojo” by Anna Heisterkamp, Dublin.

RTE Factual Award:
“Internet Addiction and Me” by Eoin Corbett, Co Tipperary.
Special Mention: “The Restoration of the old Irish Fiddle” by Naoise Kettle, Laois.
Special Mention: “Boiled Beef”, St Joseph’s Secondary School, Kerry.

Radharc Award:
“What Makes Me Happy” by Bradog Regional Youth Service, Reel Youth, Dublin.
Highly Commended: “The Restoration of the old Irish Fiddle” by Naoise Kettle, Laois.

RTE 60 Second Short Award:
“Da Vincki and the Button” by Matas Skudra, Galway.

Judges Special Mentions:

Performance: Sean Griffin in “Stage Fright”, Dir. Cian Byrne & Joe Kiely Fox, Digital Film School, Dublin.
Comedy: “The Search for WiFi” by County Wexford Film Project, Wexford.
Ambition: “The Plan” by Eamon McMahon, Wicklow.
Authenticity: “Peace, Pancakes and Miley Cyrus”, by Loreto Secondary School, Cork.


1st place:
“I Wish…” by 6th Class, Scoil Bhride, Galway.

2nd place:
“YOLO” by Tadhg Quill-Manley, Cork.

3rd place:
“The Heist” and “Suarez”, by Young Irish Filmmakers, Kilkenny.

Highly Commended:
Storytelling: “No Reception” by 1st, 2nd & 3rd Class, St Joseph’s NS, Kerry.
Performance: “Kate’s Ghost” by Carrig NS, Co Offaly.
Concept: “Easy as ABC” and “Note” by Trading Faces, Galway.

Highly Commended under the Radharc Award (Documentary)
Documentary Filmmaking: “Pre-Celtic Desertserges” by Ahiohill NS, Cork.
Production: “Trasna na dTonnta” by Cappabue NS, Cork.

Judges Special Mention:
“Bonfire” by 6th Class, Rathmichael NS, Dublin.

Special Commendation under the Brownbag Award (Animation)
“Material Man” by Cian MacCoille & Aoibhinn Ni Coille, Galway.
“Bonfire” by 6th Class, Rathmichael NS, Dublin.


1st place (Joint 1st):
“Boy” by Lucas Helth Postma, Station Next, Denmark.
“Pi” by Lars Huulgaard, Station Next, Denmark.

2nd place:
“Born to be Loved” by Choi Eun-Sol, Korea.

3rd place:
“Angel for Hire”, by Katie Hoggard, Wales High School, Sheffield, England.

Highly Commended:
Cinematography: “Winter Journey” by Simon Hoffman, Kemperly Film Production, Germany.
Storytelling: “Traces” by Escola Esl Xiprers, Spain.


Limerick Audience Award: “Mi Phone” by Cian O’Connor, Kerry.

Galway Audience Award: “Tales from St Enda’s” by Colaiste Einde, Galway.

Cork Audience Award: “Theatre” by Cork Young Filmmakers with Briery Gap Youth Theatre, Cork.

Dublin Central Audience Award: “Wasted” by Daragh Goan, Dublin.

Dublin Central / Leinster  Audience Award: “Horse Love” by Sean Thomas, Dublin.

Leinster Audience Award: “Never Forget” by Youth New Ross, Wexford.

Share this on....